A Little Bit Unusual

IMG_0702

On a warm day in the spring I had been happily writing in the garden when some unusual activity on the other side of the bench I was sitting on caught my eye. Looking closely at the shape-shifting yellow ball, I discovered that it was made out of tiny yellow spider hatchlings (much smaller in actual size than the photo shows), which were just beginning to move out in every direction. Some found their way to my open journal page and one was even brave enough to take a ride on my pen for a little while till I released it in the grass below.

I am glad to say that most of the time spiders don’t evoke the fear that I used to have, thanks to a Tarantula that I met at the Bug Zoo in Victoria, BC, a few years ago. I have forgotten her name, but won’t forget those precious moments when fear turned first to admiration when witnessing her patient tolerance of the high pitched screams when she was placed upon the hands of others who perhaps like me were trying to overcome their fears.

When it was my turn and I held out my hand, admiration turned quickly back to fear but only for a moment. Then surprisingly the fear turned into love. I couldn’t help but be affected by the calmness and presence of this beautiful creature sitting so trustingly on my hand. She was here to help us overcome our fears. The moment I realized this, my heart completely opened.

Every now and then when I get startled again by a big spider and fear arises, I remember her teaching and the love and deep gratitude that I have for her. Now I can freely admire the beauty of their exquisite webs, their incredible weaving skills and the cute baby hatchlings beginning their cycle of life and taking their place in it. Well, and the big ones, if they are in our house, I carry carefully outside in a glass and wish them well.

 

 

In response to the Weekly photo challenge: Unusual

7 thoughts on “A Little Bit Unusual

  1. PatNewMex

    I love spiders and was lucky enough to have a Jewel or cat-faced spider a few years back outside my front door. I kept the light on all night so she would get enough to eat. I recall in fall she crawled with her huge body up the side of my home and disappeared into the eaves. I was saddened because they only live one season. However the next spring I was so lucky to be home during that small window of time when her babies hatched! I was in love all over again. Thanks for sharing your story of spider love. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. drawingbackthecurtain Post author

      Thanks for your beautiful comment! Still learning more and more about spiders and there so many different kinds. And some, as you said, have such short life spans to fulfill their cycle of life….I am not sure that I have seen a Jewel spider yet, but will be on the lookout.

      Like

      Reply
  2. ren

    What an awesome picture and sharing! I appreciate your description of your experience and the beauty you now find in spiders. I am elated for you conquering your fear. I also take most house spiders outside. Some I will leave in the house, for insect control.

    My son has had two encounters this month, with tarantulas in the wild (southern California). Both times were at sunset.
    He enlightens me with how the ‘Native Americans’ hold the spider sacred and why. Is quite fascinating.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. drawingbackthecurtain Post author

      I always leave some of the smaller ones in the house as well. I have a feeling that we have a lot more spiders in the house than I am aware of. There is so much yet to be known about them. It is very interesting indeed. So cool, that your son encountered them in the wild.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. drawingbackthecurtain Post author

      I am a beginner weaver and I love spider webs. It is so cool to see in the light especially after a rain. Every time I see a spider I am reminded of creativity and creating or weaving my life. I love that!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

