Kiss the Earth

p1120669

“Keep your tailbone down!” These words run through my head as I am walking through the wet grass towards the garden. I am on a mission to get kale, parsley and celery for my morning drink. I notice I feel taller, straighter when I walk this way. “Walk like a queen!” I laugh with delight still wondering how to do that. One of my socks is getting wet. There must be a hole in my shoe. “Kiss the earth with each step you take!”

p1120712

I slow down. There are so many mushrooms in the grass. They must have sprung up overnight. I place my foot more carefully onto the ground this time. Instructions from Banafsheh, our beautiful Dance of Oneness workshop leader, are coming back into my consciousness. I slow down even more. My wet foot feels the wet earth beneath and I smile.

A sense of Well-Being is starting to fill my body as I walk lightly yet fully grounded to Mother Earth. I pick the kale dripping with raindrops, add the parsley and celery and stop for a moment to look around. The Sunflowers and Hollyhocks are bowing down from the night’s rain. There is no doubt anymore that autumn is here. I welcome it. I wonder in the welcoming if I am now entering the autumn of my life with hot flashes and many other menopausal symptoms creating the need to turn more inward and wonder also if I can open to the different kind of beauty that this season brings.

I walk slowly out of the garden. The click of the garden gate breaks through my reverie. As I take one step at a time with my hands full of wet greens, I feel the energy of the earth. “Imagine an invisible thread that goes from your crown to the sky pulling you up” I hear Banafsheh’s deep feminine voice inside my head. Feeling myself being pulled upwards I am walking even taller, gently placing each foot on the earth with awareness where we touch and connect. My body, my temple, is becoming a bridge between Heaven and Earth. I notice an aliveness tingle inside of me. The fresh morning air awakens my senses even further.

It is a week now since the workshop ended, since all fifteen women danced in Oneness at the Hollyhock Retreat Centre. Everyone of them is held so dearly in my heart, something I had not expected. I am not sure what I hoped for. All I know is something had called me to go and I am so glad I did not let the resistance and fear stop me from going. It was challenging and beautiful at the same time with the sweetest surprise: the coming home to the sacred Feminine. Again I had not expected that. The surprise and wonder is still very much alive in me. I put my hand on my womb and I remember…

p1120662

Cracked Open

Something has shifted inside of me in this dance. My head is desperately trying to figure out what it is, wants to put a finger on something. I sense that this something cannot be defined or even named. It can only be opened up to, experienced in my whole being and leave me forever changed. I have taken home many precious gifts from this workshop, like the opening to sisterhood to a degree which I have not experienced before; my reconnection to the Divine Feminine and seeing and experiencing the embodiment of her in all her beauty; the gift of self-forgiveness, kindness and self-love and of course the beautiful gift of whirling and Rumi’s powerful words. I learned many things I didn’t know, all leading me home to the sacred feminine. The most precious gift however I cannot put into words. It is that something that dances in every cell of my body calling me home.

elkes-green-bouquet

Photo by Dancing Wolf

 

Today, like every other day,

we wake up empty and frightened.

Don’t open the door to the study and begin reading.

Take down a musical instrument.

Let the beauty we love be what we do.

There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.

~Rumi

8 thoughts on “Kiss the Earth

  1. Tara

    Those red mushrooms are gorgeous! I started working on my posture a little over a year ago– for health and (honestly) vanity reasons, not spiritual ones– but within days of becoming more conscious of how I was standing & carrying myself, I was amazed at how much more connected I felt with the world, how much more open & receptive to the other people around me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. drawingbackthecurtain Post author

      Thank you for your comment, Tara! The red mushrooms just blew me away. The evening before they were just 2 inches, the next morning they were the size of my foot. So magical! It is truly amazing how different I feel when I change my posture. You said it very well: open & receptive!

      Like

      Reply
  2. photolion0000

    i love the way you write. It is deep and meaningful. I could feel your words. Wonderful photographs. As a photographer, I have learned to hold my head high but to always look at the ground. I have discovered many mysteries there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. drawingbackthecurtain Post author

      Thank you for your beautiful comment! For me the writing and taking pictures go hand and hand. I loved what you said about discovering many mysteries by looking down. I feel the same. It is all around us and trying to express it in a photograph or with words or any other creative expression is such delight.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. photolion0000

        Inspiration comes to us from many sources. Like last Sunday, the morning was bright, the sky a clear blue. There was ground fog just hovering over the pastures. I looked out the window at the clothesline stretching to one of the larger trees. On it were these old wooden clothes pins. From that small snippet came the inspiration for a series of ‘art’ prints. I’ll post these over the weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

